Hugh’s News & Views (God’s Lists)


In His infinite love for mankind and His desire for humanity to know His will, God has provided some important lists to which we would do well to pay attention. These lists do not provide the details of how the respective items are to be applied—not by any means—but they do encapsulate and serve as succinct summaries of a number of significant principles that are then “fleshed out” in the rest of God’s special and divine revelation to humanity, the Bible.

Through Moses, God said,

1. You shall have no other gods before Me.

2. You shall not make for yourself a carved image…you shall not bow down to them or serve them.

3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.

4. Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy.

5. Honor your father and your mother.

6. You shall not murder.

7. You shall not commit adultery.

8. You shall not steal.

9. You shall not bear false witness.

10. You shall not covet.

(Exodus 20:1-17) (Note: While first given to Old Testament Israel, all of the above commandments were incorporated into New Testament Christianity and are still applicable today with the exception of “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.” Saturday is the Sabbath. The first day of the week, Sunday, the Lord’s Day is now the day when Christians meet for the divinely appointed acts of worship, being the day on which our Lord was resurrected from the grave [Matthew 28:1-8; Acts 20:7; I Corinthians 16:1-2; Revelation

Through Solomon, God names six things that He hates, even seven that are an abomination to Him:

1. A proud look,

2. A lying tongue,

3. Hands that shed innocent blood,

4. A heart that devises wicked purposes,

5. Feet that are swift in running to mischief,

6. A false witness who speaks lies,

7. And one who sows discord among brethren.

(Proverbs 6:16).

Through His Son Jesus Christ, God says,

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

3. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they shall be filled.

5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God.

8. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

(Matthew 5:1-12).

Through the apostle Paul, God provided two antithetical lists, one consisting of the works of the flesh, the other consisting of the fruit of the Spirit. The works of the flesh are as follows:

1. Adultery,

2. Fornication,

3. Uncleanness (referring to sexual uncleanness/immorality),

4. Licentiousness,

5. Idolatry,

6. Sorcery,

7. Hatred,

8. Contention,

9. Jealousy,

10. Outbursts of wrath,

11. Selfish ambition,

12. Dissensions,

13. Heresies,

14. Envy,

15. Murder,

16. Drunkenness,

17. Revelry,

18. And the such like.

(Galatians 5:19-21, ending with the warning that those who do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God).

The fruit of the Spirit consists of:

1. Love,

2. Joy,

3. Peace,

4. Longsuffering,

5. Kindness,

6. Goodness,

7. Faithfulness,

8. Gentleness,

9. Self-control.

(Galatians 5:22-26, ending with the encouragement to walk in the spirit, not in the flesh).

Through the apostle Peter God set forth seven Christian graces to be developed and added to one’s faith.

1. Virtue,

2. Knowledge,

3. Self-control,

4. Perseverance,

5. Godliness,

6. Brotherly kindness,

7. Love.

(II Peter 1:5-11, with the promise of an abundant entrance into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ to His children who demonstrate these qualities).

God Himself has a list: the names of those He has recorded in the Lamb’s Book of Life (Philippians 4:3; Luke 10:20; Revelation 3:5; Revelation 20:15).

How carefully are you paying attention to God’s lists?

Is your name on God’s all-important list?

Hugh Fulford

June 9, 2020

#hughfulford #lists #commandments